Conservative Action Project

The Conservative Action Project, founded by former Attorney General Edwin Meese and chaired by The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop,

is designed to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. Participants include the CEO’s of over 100 organizations representing all major elements of the conservative movement-economic, social and national security.

Memo for the Movement

To Presidential Candidates on Supreme Court Justices: 

No More Surprises

October 2, 2015
Washington, DC

The next President is likely to appoint as many as three justices to the U.S. Supreme Court, establishing a new majority and shaping the judicial branch for a generation.Those justices will serve for many years after the next President leaves office and their votes will impact every facet of American life.

Will the next President select justices who abide by the text and original meaning of the Constitution, even when doing so is politically unpopular or inconvenient?Or will our system of checks and balances be further damaged by the selection of justices who take for themselves the power to rewrite the Constitution according to their own political preferences?Sadly, despite three Republican presidencies and seven appointments to the Court in the last thirty-five years, we still have a Court that too frequently does the latter.

The undersigned conservative leaders are determined to reverse that trend.To that end, candidates who seek the presidency must, at minimum:


Hon. Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan
Hon. Becky Norton Dunlop
Chairman, Conservative Action Project (CAP)
Former White House Advisor, President Ronald Reagan

Hon. J. Kenneth Blackwell
Policy Board Member
American Civil Rights Union

L. Brent Bozell, III

Hon. Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio

Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List

William L. Walton
Vice President
Council for National Policy

Alfred S. Regnery
Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

Hon. David McIntosh
Former Member of Congress

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan

Kelly Shackelford, Esq.
President, CEO and Chief Counsel
Liberty Institute

Michael Grebe
President and CEO
The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation

Ellen L. Barrosse
Chairman, Conservative Steering Committee of Republican
National Committee

Jay Mount
MDS Communications

Brian Brown
National Organization for Marriage

Lee A. Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group

Frank Schubert
Mission Public Affairs, LLC

James C. Miller III
Former OMB Director
President Ronald Reagan

Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism

John C. Eastman
Senior Fellow
The Claremont Institute

Bob Adams
Revive America PAC

Col. Clifton P. Schroeder, USMC Retired
Member, Council For National Policy

Linwood Bragan
Executive Director
CapStand Council for Policy and Ethics

Ralph Benko
Center for Civic Virtue

Rick Scarborough
Vision America Action

Quin Hillyer
Veteran Conservative Columnist

Michael Farris, JD, LLM

Willes K. Lee
Executive Vice President
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Ted Baehr
Publisher, MOVIEGUIDE(R)
Member, Broadcast Film Critics Association

Christopher N. Malagisi
Young Conservatives Coalition

Seton Motley
Less Government

Richard D. Hayes
Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, LLP

Ali Akbar
Senior Advisor
Black Conservatives Fund

Kevin Kookogey
President & Founder
Linchpins of Liberty

Dan Weber
CEO, Association of Mature
American Citizens (AMAC)

Joseph A. Morris
Morris & De La Rosa

Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization

Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

Sherri R. Martin
The Martin Foundation

Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation

Nicholas Stehle
Campaign for the American Future

C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Hon. Sharron Angle
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Mike Spence
Conservative Republicans of California

Dr. Shawn A. Mitchell
National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Alex St. James
Executive Director
Blacks Economic-Security Trust (BEST) Foundation

Hon. Jerry Melvin
Florida Republican Assembly

Andresen Blom
Executive Director
Grassroot Hawaii Action

Jim Backlin
Christian Coalition of America

Larry Cirignano
DC Representative
Children First Foundation

Ron Robinson
President/br>Young America’s Foundation

Matt Schlapp
The American Conservative Union

Kristin Fecteau
Campaign to Free America

Dan Schneider
Executive Director
The American Conservative Union

Gary L. Bauer
American Values

Tom McClusky
Vice President
March for Life Action

Carrie Severino
Chief Counsel and Policy Director
Judicial Crisis Network

Hon. Donald J. Devine
Former Director, U.S. Office of Personnel Management
Senior Scholar, The Fund for American Studies

Gary Marx
Former Executive Director and Board Member
Judicial Crisis Network

Mario H. Lopez
Hispanic Leadership Fund

Phillip L. Jauregui
Judicial Action Group

Herman Cain
President & C.E.O.

Raymond J. LaJeunesse, Jr.
Vice President & Legal Director
National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation

Gina Gleason
Executive Director
Faith and Public Policy

Richard A. Viguerie

George Landrith
Frontiers of Freedom

Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund

Curt Levey
The Committee for Justice

(All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only)